Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

2013-10-27T06:00:00+01:00

And you, what do you do with your fabric scraps (2) ?

Publié par Le petit atelier de Tika
And you, what do you do with your fabric scraps (2) ?

If you remember earlier this month, I wrote about my unstructured top made with a fabric scrap.


Oups I did it again with a skirt created from a jersey round scrap and a scarf found in Emmaus for less than one euro.


When I found this scarf I knew that I will use for a skirt but I did not know how. I love the vertical stripes because I think they slim me but I could not see myself with stripes on my butt.

Then back home, I dove to the bottom of my scraps to find something to make me a long skirt with a base made with the striped scarf.

And you, what do you do with your fabric scraps (2) ?

After getting my cut of round jersey, I checked the appearance that it would have once on thick elastic. I do not like having too many folds on the stomach because I have not found my "before pregnancy" belly... it might be time to exercise;-)

For the elastic waist, I took a special elastic with frizzy bottom that allows me to not have to make a casing to slide the elastic inside. Measure your waist - 5 cm. This allows not to lose the skirt and not being too tight at the waist.

Close the elastic round with a zigzag stitch or serger.

Then mount the black jersey on elastic distributing the gathers.

And you, what do you do with your fabric scraps (2) ?

Then close the scarf with a seam so that you can hang it on the black part of the skirt.

I wanted the look of the front to be relatively flat. My closed scarf was way bigger than my round jersey. So I made a pleat at the back of the skirt to cram the extra scarf.

I started by folding the scarf in 2 along the sewing and I put a pin in the opposite middle. I did the same with the top of the skirt taking the sewing of the elastic to one of the two sides. I put a pin below the elastic seam and another on the exact opposite.

I put the scarf sewing beside the needle indicating the elastic sewing and I pinned the top and bottom together at this level. I then crumb compared to the needles and I pinned the two pieces together.

And you, what do you do with your fabric scraps (2) ?

Starting from the front I pinned my top of the skirt and my scarf by the edge-to-edge to reach about 10 cm on each side of the needle from the back of the skirt.

I then made ​​a bend to squeeze the excess fabric. I sewed with my sewing machine. At the time no serger to make life easier ...

As I have worked with jersey and a scarf already serged I made ​​no zig-zag on my pieces. So in less than 1:00 I had a new skirt.


I hope to give you ideas ... Happy sewing!

Voir les commentaires

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
commentaires

Girl Gift Template by Ipietoon - Hébergé par Overblog